HUNGRY BUDDHA BELLY


La Choza… arriba, arriba! by foodaholic1
September 22, 2007, 1:02 pm
Filed under: dinner, food, mexican food, resturants

Here it is, my first food blog.  I am following in the footsteps of my favorite eating buddy, Tony.My family and I decided to try a new restaurant last week.  A new Mexican place opened near the Bella Terra Mall on Edinger called La Choza.   They advertise, “Traditional Mexican Food Since 1976” and boast of a successful restaurant in downtown LA.  Upon first walking into the restaurant, the decor is distinctly traditional Mexican with brightly painted walls and simple decorations.  I could tell that there was going to be some decent food here because, when you first walk in there was a short Hispanic woman diligently making fresh tortilla’s out in the open behind the seating area.  The smell of the fresh tortilla’s being made was a goooood start.   It set that rumbly in the tumbly feeling!  Besides whats cooler than seeing tortilla’s being made right in front of you.We were immediately seated with enough room for my family of five who has a appetite for a family of ten.   My kids attacked the chips on the table like they’ve never eaten a meal before (note to self… don’t forget to feed the kids regularly).  A quick note on the service… wow.  My water glass was never half full and the chip baskets were never empty – excellent service. The kids got the traditional taco, rice and beans, my wife got the standard Combo #-whatever that you find on most Mexican restaurant menu’s, but I decided to be adventurous and order one of the specials.  I got the Plato de Barbacoa.  The combo’s weren’t’ anything special, just the normal enchilada, taco, rice and beans.  But holy huevos rancheros Batman… the Plato de Barbacoa was a tasty treat.  This dish described as, ” Jucy Mexican Style BBQ beef prepared with an appealingly different blend of spices” was just that.  The meat was tender and came bathed in a reddish sauce that was distinctly abuela’s (grandma’s) recipe.  It was served with a pile of onions and cilantro; rice and beans; and a side of the fresh tortilla’s.  Mix all that up, and pile it onto a tortillas with the yummy salsa verde (that came with the chips) and OOOHHHH YEAHHHH!  Me was a happy Buhdda Boy.  Washed that down with a Pacifico and life is good. If you go to La Choza, don’t bother with the standard combo fare.  It’s no different than you find at the typical Mexican restaurants.  Go with the Especiales senoires y senorita’s.. esta muy delicioso!.  My personal choice for any restaurant is to as myself, “would I go back?”.  I would go back to La Choza, specifically for the Especiales.  I La Choza 3 Belly Rubs.

 Happy Eating,

Scott Buddha

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

what no pictures?

Comment by phoboy99




Leave a Reply

