HUNGRY BUDDHA BELLY


Farmer Boys by foodaholic1
October 9, 2007, 12:13 pm
Filed under: food, lunch, resturants, tasty travels

My travels as a warehouse management system implementer frequently take me into big industrial areas.  After all, that’s where warehouses are!  My frequent challenge is to find decent places to eat in these industrial areas.  One “chain” restaurant that keeps showing up in these industrial areas is Farmer Boys.  They are a cross between a fast food restaurant and a sit down burger establishment.  You order at the front counter, take a number, find a seat and wait patiently (or impatiently in my case) for the food to arrive.  The décor is a down home country style with pictures of roosters in barns, Norman Rockwell style paintings and country music in the background.  I will say that the service here is superb!  The cashiers are super friendly and attentive.  There must be a company motto somewhere that prizes hospitality, because every worker there was friendly and ready to help.  I did notice that the drive through had an awning covering that said, “Thank you for coming!”. So, let’s get to the food already!  The menu consists of classic American fare.  Hamburgers, patty melts, fried goodies, etc. are the staple.  I ordered the BLT combo (sandwich, fries and a coke).  After all, what goes best with bacon than more bacon!  I am all too happy to sacrifice my waistline for the good of the blog!  Anyway, immediately what set this sandwich apart from the normal BLT’s is that Farmer Boys uses applewood smoked bacon.  Ok, first of all, yum to bacon… long live bacon… up with pork and porky goodness!!  But, applewood smoked bacon… oh yeahhh buddy!  One thing Farmer Boy are not, and that is stingy.  There was ample amount of bacon (say it with me baaaccccoooon – yum), tomatoes and lettuce.  The sandwich was served with a side of fries.  Now one thing I hate is getting a side of greasy, soft, cold fries.  This was most definitely not the case here.  The fries were crisp and well salted.  They were also the medium thickness fries that crisp up nicely (I can’t stand the thick steak fries – in case you were wondering). So, all in all, the Farmer Boys experience was definitely a good one.  I’d go back and given that I am in these industrial area’s a lot, chances are I’ll be trying more stuff.  On the Buhhda fast food scale, I give Farmer Boys 3 ½ belly rubs. – Scott Buhhda

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] foodaholic1 wrote a fantastic post today on “Farmer Boys”Here’s ONLY a quick extractThey are a cross between a fast food restaurant and a sit down burger establishment. You order at the front counter, take a number, find a seat and wait patiently (or impatiently in my case) for the food to arrive. … […]

Pingback by www.foodthatheal.info » Farmer Boys




Leave a Reply

